Wednesday 28 February 2018
Explore Orleans House through time
After many months of construction and many years of planning our Transforming Orleans House project is at an end! Visitors can now explore the history of the house and surrounding area through exciting new interpretation.
Hung on the exposed brick wall of the Octagon Room is a permanent display of Richmond Borough Art Collection works, including paintings of Queen Caroline who dined in the Octagon Room in 1729, and the original owners of the house Mr and Mrs Johnston. A large wooden model shows how the house appeared in 1925 – a year before most of it was demolished – and two fun animations explore Orleans House through time and Queen Caroline’s banquet.
On the first floor, a permanent display of paintings from the collection show how the building is part of a wider river landscape within the protected view from Richmond Hill.
In the new Study Gallery – a cross between a gallery, picture store and library – almost 100 collection works will be on permanent public display for the first time. The room is interactive and visitors will be encouraged to pull out picture racks and open drawers and cupboards to explore what lies inside!
In the grounds five interpretation panels mark the front door of the original Orleans House, the corner of the house, the site of the 19th century circular fountain, the 19th century library, and deep in the woods the entrance to the now demolished boat house. Make sure you visit and find all five!